Department of Public Printing and Stationery.—This Department was established in 1886 and is in the charge of the Queen's Printer and Controller of Stationery.

The Department is responsible for supplying all requirements of printing and stationery to Parliament and Departments of the Canadian Government; the distribution and sale of government publications; the publication of the *Canada Gazette*, and all departmental reports, papers, etc., required to be published by authority of the Governor General in Council (R.S.C. 1952, c. 226) and the publication of the Statutes of Canada (R.S.C. 1952, c. 230).

The Department of Public Printing and Stationery is under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of State.

Department of Public Works.—This Department was constituted in 1867 and operated under the legislative authority of the Public Works Act and other Acts of Parliament (see p. 124). It is responsible for the management, charge and direction of the public works of Canada and except as specifically provided in other Acts attends to the construction and maintenance of public buildings, wharves, piers, roads and bridges and the undertaking of dredging and navigable waters protection work. The Department maintains architectural and engineering staffs in each province in addition to the Administrative, Architectural, Engineering and Purchasing and Stores Branches at Ottawa. In 1954 the Fire Prevention Branch of the Department of Insurance was transferred to the Department of Public Works.

The Minister of Public Works is responsible to Parliament for the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation and for federal interests in the Trans-Canada Highway.

Department of the Secretary of State.—The Secretary of State and Registrar General of Canada is the official medium of communication with the Throne through the Governor General, as well as between the federal and provincial governments through the Lieutenant-Governors, and is the custodian of the Great Seal of Canada and of the Privy Seal of the Governor General. He is responsible for the preparation and tabling of returns in Parliament. He administers legislation relating to patents of invention, trade marks, industrial designs, timber marking, copyright, companies, boards of trade, the registration of trade unions, public officers, public documents and governmental and parliamentary translations. He is also the Custodian of Enemy Property.

The Secretary of State has certain responsibilities with respect to decorations, precedence and ceremonial. The Awards Co-ordination Committee and the Committee on the use of Parliament Hill and the National War Memorial fall within his purview.

Finally, he is the Minister of the Department of Public Printing and Stationery and the spokesman in Cabinet and Parliament of the Civil Service Commission and the Chief Electoral Officer.

Trade and Commerce.—The Department of Trade and Commerce was established by Act of Parliament on June 23, 1887 but did not function until Dec. 5, 1892 when an Order in Council to this effect was passed. Before the formation of the Department assistance in the development of Canada's external trade was provided by eight Canadian Commercial Agents—five in the West Indies, two in Great Britain and one in France—who served on a part time basis and were responsible to the Minister of Finance. In 1895 a Canadian Commercial Agent was appointed at Sydney, Australia as the first full time salaried Agent of the Department—the first Canadian Government Trade Commissioner in the present meaning of the term.

The framework of the present Trade Commissioner Service emerged during the next decade or so, the Commercial Agents gradually giving place to career Trade Commissioners. From 1911 to 1945 the Commercial Agencies Branch was known as the Commercial Intelligence Service. In mid-1955 a total of 112 Trade Commissioners served at headquarters and abroad in 52 posts. These included Assistant Trade Commissioners and agricultural, fisheries and timber specialists. Where Trade Commissioners are members of a mission maintained by the Department of External Affairs they hold diplomatic status and are known as Commercial Counsellors or Commercial Secretaries.

The Department was expanded after the Second World War to provide a wider range of services to Canadian businessmen. It now comprises: the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service, Commodifies Branch (including the Transportation and Trade Services Division), Agriculture and Fisheries Branch, International Trade Relations Branch, Information Branch, Industrial Development Branch, Economics Branch, Standards Branch, International Economic and Technical Cooperation Division and the Canadian Government Exhibition Commission.

The following boards, commissions, Crown companies and agencies report to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce—six of them through his capacity as Chairman of the Privy Council Committee on Scientific and Industrial Research: Board of Grain Commissioners, Canadian Wheat Board, Dominion Bureau of Statistics, Export Credits Insurance Corporation, Trans-Canada Air Lines, Atomic Energy Control Board, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, Canadian Patents and Development Limited, National Research Council, Eldorado Mining and Refining Company Limited, Eldorado Aviation Limited and Northern Transportation Limited.

Department of Transport.—The Department was created on Nov. 2, 1936 from the former Department of Marine, Railways and Canals and the Civil Aviation Branch of the Department of National Defence (R.S.C. 1952, c. 79).